Cooking Basics: What Everyone Should Know

We started with salt and pepper and ended with scallops and polenta-and we are still flabbergasted at how easy it all was.
859
Cooking Basics: What Everyone Should Know is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_CA, sid_9338, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 79.25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WHAT IS BASIC TO SOME IS ROCKET SCIENCE TO OTHERS I bought this because after 80 years circumstances, including the Hunan virus pandemic, forced me to have to learn to cook. Up to this time, my cooking skills consisted of cold cereals, sandwiches, canned soups and burgers. Well, this course starts off not at a beginning level, but at what I consider to be advanced gourmet meals involving sophisticated preparation and planning. I thought I'd learn some basic cooking skills, not professional chef-level skills for which the average kitchen could not accommodate. The instructor spoke so fast that it was hard for me to follow. I thought NYers talked fast, this guy speaks like a machine gun.
Date published: 2020-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Please more classes from Chef Sean Kahlenberg. The dishes are interesting but his explanations on tools and techniques are so clear and helpful. Really enjoying this course.
Date published: 2020-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Communicator This might be one of the best cooking courses you have. The instructor is very clear and concise. Yes some of the techniques are not really basic but he breaks things down it a very good way. I hope he will do more.
Date published: 2020-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good but not "basics" This is for a fairly advanced cook. That said, I learned some technical knowledge and techniques. The chef is an interesting instructor. The three course meal at the end should not be presented as "easy to do!" He clearly has lots of helpers (or time) to prep things ahead of time. Those of us at home have to do it all ourselves. So I would not try to do all three courses in one day. Make the tart and do lots of the prep work the day before. Otherwise, you'll kill yourself trying to juggle all of that. Was impressive to watch him do it -- but he is a professional and I'm guessing has helpers.
Date published: 2020-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative, great teaching and explanation Most cooking lessons focus on getting the job done. Mr Kahlenberg teaches you to get the job done well. Expectations for a professional kitchen and a home kitchen are different. Take note of this before starting the course.
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Basic for the Average American I enjoy view basic classes because they usually contain bits of personal experience from the instructor. This one is fine for that purpose but I found myself annoyed by the unusual ingredients and measure techniques. Many Americans will not have a food scale and do not have access to coastal ingredients. I expected basic to be more basic than what is presented. The program is good, just not properly classed or titled.
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really misleading title! this is no basics course! This course is definitely not for beginners or those who want to learn basics as the title says! most of the dishes are fit for those in the intermediate-advanced level. The recipes are simple yes but they require advanced technique and skills, The chef is extremely professional, personable, and a pleasure to watch and learn from. I learned quite a bit but I wish the title of te course was more reflective of its content.
Date published: 2020-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this course! Learning a lot of useful tricks every step on the way!
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cooking Basics At the very least this should have been labeled Cooking Basics - Intermediate. This course is intended for those who are somewhat accomplished but certainly not basic. Being a novice I labored well over two hours cooking Coq au Vin and it was a "C" at best. After completing the instructions I had garlic still sitting on the counter but the recipe never called for using garlic. Ingredients called for 2 cl garlic, brunoise. Should we know what brunoise means? or 4 cl mushrooms? I like the chef but more time needs to be put into gearing the course towards "Basics". Also, the instructions should be given to a beginner to be tested; these were poorly written. Also the written instructions need to be completed and not say "refer to the video lesson".
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Chef Briwa! The instructor/chef makes this course enjoyable and easy to follow. The food is restaurant-quality but accessible. The guidebook is nice for following along.
Date published: 2020-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very professional This was a very well presented series. Being a vegetarian, I will never make octopus or any of the other meat dishes, but watching the chef's skill was inspirational. It took me back to my days at culinary school.
Date published: 2020-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Misnamed: See review If this course had been titled Kitchen Basics: What Every Chef Should Know, I would have given it 4 stars. There is no question Chef Sean knows his subject, but as a non-professional cook, I don't expect to need to know how to cook an octopus or break down 4 different kinds of fish. I know what the Maillard reaction is, but the term was used at least twice before it was defined several sessions later. And one recipe requires 2 ovens. It was also imperative to pay close attention to the book, if the recipes were to be reproducible. While there were many basic skills included in the sessions, separating the basic from the advanced were hard to separate. I have enjoyed 5 other courses from the CIA but this one was frustrating on many levels.
Date published: 2020-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great chef explanations but not basic We are watching this together. It is more gourmet basic rather than just cooking basics. Be sure to read the lesson titles.
Date published: 2020-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my mouth water! A great variety of recipes and techniques for anyone who loves food. I learned a lot, taking me from can opener to competent cook.
Date published: 2020-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommended I have completed about half of the lectures in “Cooking Basics” and overall, I enjoy them. I enjoy listening to Aussie accents. I will say; however, that Bill Briwa is still my gold standard for The Great Courses cooking lectures. Chef Kahlenberg dives a bit into the chemistry of cooking, maybe a bit more than simple cooking “basics” in my opinion, but fine for me. The model for this series appears to be to make a dish and include in it the basics (e.g., the dice of a particular vegetable) as part of that dish. This appears to me to be a different approach from The Great Courses series “The Everyday Gourmet: Rediscovering the Lost Art of Cooking”. However, several of the lectures in “Cooking Basics” leave me somewhat confused. Take for instance Lesson 6 “How to Break Down and Roast a Chicken”. In this lesson Chef Kahlenberg explicitly states “The only thing that kills salmonella is 165°F”, both verbally and in a banner headline. If that is the case, then: At 4:05 and at 5:02 into the lecture he holds the (brass?) pepper grinder with his raw chicken contaminated hands. At 6:51 into the lecture he opens the oven with his raw chicken contaminated hands. How will these be sanitized to 165°F? I assume the remaining salt in the bowl is immediately thrown in the trash after seasoning the raw chicken using his raw chicken contaminated fingers? The hottest that the hot water out of my kitchen faucet comes out is about 130°F. I cannot possibly keep my hands in that water for any appreciable amount of time, let alone 20-30 seconds to wash them. How does Chef Kahlenberg get his hands to 165°F to kill the salmonella on them, as “The only thing that kills salmonella is 165°F”? At 6:40 into the lecture he says to heat the oven to 450°F to oven-sear the chicken. However, the oven’s display is dark and all four of the knobs are pointed north-south (apparently nothing turned on). At 7:19 into the lecture he pushes the oven rack back into the oven with his bare fingers. Is something wrong here or is oven cooking in the entire series all fake? At 4:05 into Lesson 10, “One-Dish Cookery: Coq au Vin”, he uses his raw chicken contaminated hands to open the refrigerator. How will the refrigerator handle be sanitized to 165°F? Additionally, in the chef’s biography, it assumes everyone knows what “AOS” stands for? In my opinion, this requires a bit more editorial finesse. Overall, I would recommend these lectures. Yes, there is some confusing things, but I will pick those out and soak in the rest.
Date published: 2020-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cooking Basics for a Gourmet Restaurant The course is fun and informative. The title is hilarious. I hope it was someone's cheeky reference to a Monty Python or SNL skit. This certainly is not a course for learning cooking basics. One recipe requires 24 HOURS of preparation for the sauce, and that is not even covered in detail. And poaching an octopus? HILARIOUS! I did learn a lot, but this course would be better as part of an "behind the scenes" Michelin kitchen series.
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional Cooking Techniques Revealed I am very impressed with this course. I am a big fan of Chef Briwa's courses, but Chef Kahlenberg is also an excellent chef and instructor. I like the more scientific approach that he uses with precise temperatures for simmer and boil, and pH levels of water for cooking vegetables. However, a better title would be "Professional Cooking Techniques for the Advanced Home Chef." This is not a good course for beginners.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific course Encore! Encore! I always thought Chef Briwa (of previous Great Courses fame) was excellent, but Chef Kahlenberg is even better. I think my kitchen skills are pretty solid, but every lesson of Cooking Basics had me saying "who knew?" or "I need to try that" or just, plain "wow!" How to salt, when to pepper, what cooking method goes with what vegetables ... and the list goes on. The recipes are excellent too. More from Chef Kahlenberg please!
Date published: 2020-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well presented I am very pleased with this course. Excellent information and guidance as to process. Enough back ground to understand the process.
Date published: 2020-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Course I have an hour under my belt so far on this course. I really like the new chef instructor Sean Kahlenberg. So glad I tried out this course. Sean's expertise is first class! As a new kid on the block ( I can say that at 75 ), hope to see more of Sean.
Date published: 2019-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best cooking tutorial available! After viewing all 24 lectures, I can honestly say, this is one of the best cooking tutorials I have seen! Before I continue, let me quantify a bit. I’ve also gone through the prior series offered by The Great Courses (Everyday Gourmet, Mediterranean Cooking, Spices, Vegetables, etc.) and I’m sensitive to the current comments/questions about this being a ‘basic course’, Therefore, the following opinion (Totally mine) is based on what I think, is a fair assessment, based on a fair comparison. Firstly, the instructor/chef, Sean Kahlenberg, is spot on in his focus and presentation. While he does bring in some childhood/junior experiences (Octopus preparation), his primary focus is with the task at hand, which I like. He projects his passion for the food and the techniques used to extract the best possible flavor and presentation. Also, if you listen carefully, he has a wicked, dry sense of humor that had me chuckling! (Follow his eye glances). Great presentation, great clarity and focus – looking forward to his next series! Would love to see an 'advance' series by him as well! Second, as to the ‘basic’ question debate. Yes, this is basic! Basic from the sense of a commercial kitchen/line preparation perspective and I think this is where the source of the comments may be stemming from. The use of commercial grade machines, restaurant supplies, and food supplies are not what the everyday home cook is used to. However; these can easily be crossed walked to what is found in your home (Blenders, knives, etc. – Yes, self-confession, I did buy a food ‘Tweezer’ type tong and absolutely love it!) and available at your local or specialized grocery, butcher/seafood store. Really no difference other than quantity/bulk. Third, and most important to me, it’s what I consider the subtle techniques he shows and explains. Example: Cleaning of a beef loin/fillet. Fish preparation break down, knife alignment on various dices/cuts, chicken break down, timing thresholds on carry over cooking, and the importance of Miso Plas, sequencing. The latter is the key based on my experience of actually trying the dishes (The accompanying course book). Do the prep, easy to execute. Summary: While some of the dishes appear complex – watch the lecture, follow the sequence, then utilize the course book for the recipe, you’ll end up amazing yourself!
Date published: 2019-12-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this hoping it would be as good as Bill Briwa but unfortunately it falls short based upon the presentation and not necessarily the technical aspect.
Date published: 2019-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific course! I learned more from this course than I did from attending a very expensive week-long culinary Book Camp at the CIA campus in San Antonio, Texas. I just hope Chef Kahlenberg writes a cookbook!
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy. We really liked the presentations by Bill Briwa (RIP), but these are equally as good, if not better. We've watched only three episodes (one-half of one of the four DVDs), but they are very informative. Not as entertaining as Briwa's courses, but there is more of the science and technicalities of cooking-which I think are important. Our children are learning to cook, and there is much in these DVDs for them, as well as my wife who is a seasoned and excellent chef.
Date published: 2019-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cooking Course I’m an experienced home cook, have watched a lot of G C cooking courses but this one tops them all....not sure I’ll use all the recipes, but I have tried out all the techniques....
Date published: 2019-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cooking Basics: What Everyone Should Know While waiting for my DVDs of this course I started watching on streaming. So very happy I did. I LOVE this course! I may never make any of the recipes demonstrated, however, the techniques that Chef Sean Kahlenberg taught are more than worth the cost of the course. He is making restaurant quality food and if you are interested in the recipes this course may or may not satisfy you. What I enjoyed are the techniques of what and why to prepare certain food. Those are techniques I am able to apply to my own home -cooking. Excellent!
Date published: 2019-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall very good with one disturbing exception As an intermediate level cook I felt this course added a lot of valuable content to my cooking skills. But Lesson 3 contained something that I feel needs to be commented on. I am not a PETA person by any means but I did find it very disturbing that Chef Kahlenberg felt it was acceptable to boil a lobster alive - "he's not going to be too happy at first" was Chef's comment - there is plenty of content online regarding humane methods to kill lobsters. I find it interesting that the CIA appears to still feel it is acceptable to use this method to kill a live animal. Other than that one instance however, an excellent course.
Date published: 2019-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very good way to learn in a structure way. Some of the curses are a little bit old, but for some topics it doesn't really matter.
Date published: 2019-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Course for Foodies I purchased this course about a month ago and downloaded them lessons to my computer so I can watch them on a plane. I have watch 8 of the 24 lessons and the time flies. Chef-Instructor Sean Kahlenberg is fantastic in my book. Well done hopefully he does more.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A disappointing start As a big fan of The Great Courses, especially Bill Briwa's cooking courses, I am disappointed in Cooking Basics. At least to start. I've watched most of the lessons but have only attempted to cook the first one, Risotto. My disappointment extends to TGC rather than to Chef Kahlenberg, who I found to be a clear and qualified instructor. Because of some glaring errors, its fairly clear that TGC did not independently test the recipes as written in the manual or as presented in the video prior to releasing the course. They should have. My first issue is with the yield of the ingredient list. For Risotto, the yield shown in the manual is 16 portions instead of a more standard 4 servings. When would someone taking a Cooking Basics class be cooking for 16 people? Leafing through the manual at the other recipes, we see the yields to be from a low of 2 portions to a whopping 25! Adjusting the quantities of ingredients up or down to match 4 servings is not that hard to do. My second issue is with editing or continuity and has to do with butter. The ingredient lis for the rise e bisi (risotto) calls for 240 g of butter (60 g for 4 servings). During the video, Chef Kahlenberg presents the butter and instructs that the dish requires quite a bit of butter. Surprisingly, Chef Kahlenberg never uses the butter. It just sits next to the cooktop through the plating of the dish and the end of lesson. The manual also does not describe when or how to use the butter. At the end of my cooking, I simply put the butter back in the fridge. The end result of my dish probably suffered by the lack of the butter. These two problems were easily detected and corrected and its disappointing that TGC did not take more care prior to the release of the course. As I work my way through the rest of the lessons, if I find that these types of issues only appear in the first lesson and that the others present a higher level of quality control, I'll come back and update my review.
Date published: 2019-10-09
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_42
  • loc_en_CA, sid_9338, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Overview

Learn how to prepare dozens of recipes with step-by-step instructions for meats, pasta, vegetables, seafood, and more, with tips and tricks from an experienced professional chef.

About

Sean Kahlenberg
Sean Kahlenberg

Home cooking is a very unique thing that has gone away a bit. There’s a sort of freedom when you cook for yourself; a certain joy to it.

INSTITUTION

The Culinary Institute of America

Sean Kahlenberg is a Chef-Instructor at The Culinary Institute of America (CIA) at Hyde Park, New York, where he also earned his AOS in Culinary Arts. Additionally, he is a Certified Hospitality Educator. Chef Kahlenberg began his cooking career in his hometown of Wollongong, Australia, where he learned the trade of hospitality and restaurant and hotel management. After moving to the United States and graduating from the CIA, he worked at the famed Café des Artistes in New York City, the Commander’s Palace in Las Vegas, the Michelin-starred restaurants of Bradley Ogden and Daniel Boulud, and then became the chef de cuisine of Society Café at Wynn Resorts. After several years at Society Café, Chef Kahlenberg took the position of senior restaurant consultant and corporate chef for Blau + Associates, where he worked on projects for the Edgewater Casino, River Cree Resort and Casino, Turning Stone Resort Casino, and more. At the same time, he oversaw the operations of Simon Restaurant & Lounge, Honey Salt, R Steak & Seafood, and Buddy V’s Ristorante.

 

After his time traveling as a consulting chef, Chef Kahlenberg returned to the CIA in Hyde Park, where he has taught numerous classes, including Intraventure Operations. He also oversees the innovation kitchen on campus and serves as the executive chef of the school’s Italian restaurant, Ristorante Caterina de’ Medici.

By This Expert

Cooking Basics: What Everyone Should Know

Trailer

Risotto and What to Do with the Leftovers

01: Risotto and What to Do with the Leftovers

Rice is one of the most versatile grains in the world, and this risi e bisi, “rice with peas,” is one of the most delicious ways to use it. Among other techniques, you’ll learn how to keep the chlorophyll from turning black while cooking, how to relax the risotto on the plate for best presentation, and how to make perfect arancini with the leftovers.

29 min
Choosing the Best Method to Cook Vegetables

02: Choosing the Best Method to Cook Vegetables

Should you peel a vegetable before cooking or not? Cook it in water or oil? Put a lid on the pot or leave it off? Add salt to the water—and if so, why? Chef Kahlenberg answers these questions and more as he begins with kitchen basics. Learn which knives you need in the kitchen and other tools you might need to add.

26 min
An Elegant Corn Soup with Lobster

03: An Elegant Corn Soup with Lobster

In this lesson, you will cook, shave, and milk corn to create a delicious corn soup with julienned vegetables, an accompaniment to freshly cooked lobster. And once the lobster is cooked, you’ll learn the correct way to separate it to best access all its sweet meat.

31 min
Sautéed Scallops with Roasted Cauliflower

04: Sautéed Scallops with Roasted Cauliflower

As you begin to prepare your scallops, Chef Kahlenberg shares the “secret” way chefs decide whether or not this seafood is truly fresh. You’ll also learn how to season and baste scallops to perfection. Roasted and puréed cauliflower seasoned with a white mirepoix makes just the right side dish.

28 min
How to Poach an Octopus

05: How to Poach an Octopus

In this lesson, you’ll learn a dual-cooking method for preparing octopus—poaching and sautéing—for just the right flavor and consistency, as well as how to cut and plate the octopus. Your meal is completed with fingerling potatoes and a Spanish romesco sauce.

26 min
How to Break Down and Roast a Chicken

06: How to Break Down and Roast a Chicken

In this lesson, you’ll learn how and why to truss a chicken before roasting and the best way to season and oil the bird. Using a chef’s thermometer, you’ll learn how to manage the Maillard reaction while making sure the interior retains its juices.

35 min
Braising Short Ribs and Making Polenta

07: Braising Short Ribs and Making Polenta

Cooking short ribs takes patience because it takes time to break down the connective tissue in the protein—but the result is well worth it! In this lesson, you will simmer, steam, and braise the meat before plating with cheesy polenta and delicious root vegetables.

28 min
Pork Milanese and the Art of Breading

08: Pork Milanese and the Art of Breading

Learn how to safely pound pork to create a thin, wide cutlet that will fill almost your entire plate. You’ll also learn how to bread the pork with seasoned flour, egg, and breadcrumbs, and how to pan fry it, not deep fry. In addition, you’ll make a beautiful salad with suprêmed grapefruit.

35 min
Grilled Salmon: Breaking Down a Round Fish

09: Grilled Salmon: Breaking Down a Round Fish

Starting with a whole salmon, you’ll learn how to check for freshness; create the filets; and remove the ribs, pin bones, skin, and as much bloodline as possible. In addition to finishing the salmon on a grill pan, you’ll learn how to parch and cook quinoa for a delicious quinoa pilaf.

39 min
One-Dish Cookery: Coq au Vin

10: One-Dish Cookery: Coq au Vin

Coq au vin is a French chicken dish, all made in one pot. You’ll learn how to create a 24-hour marinade, braise the chicken while keeping the fond golden-brown, safely add and cook off brandy, and create the perfectly sized cartouche for oven cooking. To accompany the chicken, you’ll make a pomme purée and a garnish of onions and mushrooms.

32 min
Monkfish: From Bycatch to Haute Cuisine

11: Monkfish: From Bycatch to Haute Cuisine

You might think monkfish is an unusual choice for a gourmet meal: It’s a bottom-feeder formerly called garbage fish and is considered so “ugly” that it’s almost never sold with the head on. But with Chef Kahlenberg’s instruction, you will turn monkfish to a golden-brown delicacy, accompanied by a whole-grain salad.

28 min
How to Make Rack of Lamb Persillade

12: How to Make Rack of Lamb Persillade

What really brings color to this meal is the bright green persillade that will coat the lamb after it has been seared in a pan and before it goes into the oven. You’ll also learn to make a caponata—a warm vegetable salad with eggplant, raisins, capers, and pine nuts—as an accompaniment. A beautiful meal.

36 min
Making Your Own Pasta: Potato Gnocchi

13: Making Your Own Pasta: Potato Gnocchi

Gnocchi, sometimes called Italian dumplings, is a pasta made with flour and potatoes. Learn about a few of the 200+ types of potatoes, their range of starch-to-moisture ratios, and which potatoes are best for making gnocchi. You’ll learn to mill, cut, and shape this pasta with a gnocchi pallet—and make a delicious sauce to accompany this Mediterranean comfort food.

23 min
Making Your Own Pasta: Butternut Agnolotti

14: Making Your Own Pasta: Butternut Agnolotti

In this lesson, you’ll learn how to determine exactly how much flour and eggs you’ll need to measure for pasta. Once the dough is made and rested, you’ll learn how to use the pasta roller until the dough is exactly the correct consistency and how to use a piping bag to insert the roasted butternut squash mixture. Delicious!

25 min
Cooking the Perfect Thanksgiving Turkey

15: Cooking the Perfect Thanksgiving Turkey

To brine or not to brine? While there are pros and cons to both, in this lesson, you’ll learn Chef Kahlenberg’s method of brining and cooking turkey, as well as creating delicious stuffing and cranberry sauce. With the chef’s tips on prep and cook times, it will all come together exactly as you’ve always hoped.

50 min
Seafood Delight: How to Make Cioppino

16: Seafood Delight: How to Make Cioppino

Cioppino is a Portuguese seafood stew that made its way to San Francisco and is now considered a classic of that area. For this dish, you’ll learn how to prepare shrimp, mussels, calamari, clams, halibut, and scallops, as well as cleaning, cutting, and cooking leeks. Grill a baguette to finish and you’ll have the perfect seafood meal!

39 min
Finding Your Roots: Maple-Roasted Celeriac

17: Finding Your Roots: Maple-Roasted Celeriac

While vegan menus can be a challenge for any chef, as umami can be difficult to include, Chef Kahlenberg shares his own tricks to address the issue. You’ll learn how to clean, peel, and prepare celeriac; clean and prepare a variety of carrots; and how to season, cook, and plate this delicious vegan meal.

29 min
How to Make Great Paella

18: How to Make Great Paella

Paella is an ancient, summertime, one-pot seafood and rice dish originating near Valencia, updated here to include pork and chicken. In this lesson, you’ll learn how to render fat from chorizo to use as a cooking medium, create a sofrito, parch rice, bloom saffron, prepare artichokes—and bring it all together in one special pan for a unique culinary experience.

32 min
Smoking Pork with Mexican Street Corn

19: Smoking Pork with Mexican Street Corn

This recipe requires a bit of advanced planning, as the marinated and fully seasoned pork must be smoked for 16 hours. You’ll also learn how to prepare corn so it can both steam and grill at the same time for maximum flavor, and to create and dress the perfect Virginia slaw.

35 min
Dover Sole: Breaking Down a Flat Fish

20: Dover Sole: Breaking Down a Flat Fish

Dover sole is a flat fish and a bottom-feeder that almost always comes whole with the intestines left in, requiring very different preparation and cooking than a round fish. Chef Kahlenberg demonstrates how to remove the skin by hand, which must be done before cooking. You’ll also make perfectly sized fondant potatoes, as well as beautiful asparagus.

34 min
You Too Can Make Ratatouille

21: You Too Can Make Ratatouille

This French vegetable stew is given such a beautiful presentation by Chef Kahlenberg that it almost looks like a work of art! Step by step, you’ll learn how to remove the bitterness from eggplant and how to cut all vegetables to the exact same size, including using a ring mold for the red and green peppers. In addition, you’ll make a delicious branzino and tapenade.

33 min
Making Roast Beef and Potato Gratin

22: Making Roast Beef and Potato Gratin

Learn how to trim, score, and tie beef before you start cooking to help with flavor and presentation later on. After oven searing, you’ll use a chef’s thermometer to determine when to remove the meat, resting it with carryover cooking to complete the process. You’ll learn to make a delicious potato gratin, as well.

29 min
Patience, Pickles, and Crispy Fried Chicken

23: Patience, Pickles, and Crispy Fried Chicken

These easy-to-make pickles need to sit in brine for one week before eating, so you’ll need to start early on that one! The chicken also requires patience, as you’ll prepare your 9-cut, leaving it for 24 hours in brine and then 24 hours in buttermilk. At that point, it will be ready for dredging in spiced flour and fried to a beautiful golden brown. Coleslaw is the perfect way to top off this classic American dish.

26 min
My Big Steak: Executing a Three-Course Meal

24: My Big Steak: Executing a Three-Course Meal

In this lesson, you’ll learn how to create a three-course meal and have it all come together with perfect timing. You’ll prepare filet mignon from a beef tenderloin, create a spinach salad, a potato salad, and a chocolate tarte with raspberry coulis. Bon appétit!

58 min