Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body

Show us your best downward dog, your winning cat and cow pose, and all the other animals, with this series on the ancient tradition of yoga.
Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 120.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_105
  • loc_en_CA, sid_9263, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course. Perfect for practicing yoga at home Ideal for this time of quarantine Excellent instructor. Very easy to follow
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body A very good introduction to the benefits of yoga, with some instruction.
Date published: 2020-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yoga really works There are some poses this aging body can't do, so I modify them slightly. Even so, the loosening up and stretching feels great and the feeling lasts. I like that the instructor explains the why and how, so each lesson so far (I haven't finished yet) is clear and easy to remember. This course would not be appropriate for audio.
Date published: 2020-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like Presentation I'm 80 + and not at all limber. I've never done Yoga brfore but the first three lessons have provided me with a excellent introduction. I've tried several positions and expect I will be able to do them more successful the more I repeat attempting them.
Date published: 2020-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful I have taken yoga classes and used various yoga Apps, but this course is excellent. I love how the instructor explains how to do each pose or breathing exercise in detail and why to do them. She gives really helpful tips, like on the bound angle pose to bend forward from hips first to increase the reach. I would say this course is “head and shoulders” above the other ways I have studied yoga previously!
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body I bought this a few weeks ago and am enjoying it very much. The instructor Heidi Sormaz is delivers the lectures in an easy to understand manner.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from healthy mind and body I did bought one month ago and was a great one. I love it, great lectures , I keep looking at their web side almost daily. recommended very highly
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great course with an excellent instructor. I wish I had ordered it earlier.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from beginners course? i have only made it thru 7 lectures so far and it seems to be very easy and relaxing. instructor is very good at explaining the pose you are going to do and does it slowly so you have time to follow along correctly. hoping the other lectures will show many more poses.
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love This Course! I have taken a few yoga courses, but I feel that I am getting so much more from this course because I am learning the ways to make yoga work for me - for my posture, my breathing and for helping to relieve stress. Really beginning at the beginning - learning the history of yoga, plus some of the different types. And I like the way she explains the poses - learning the why, as well as the how. Just perfect for me - money well spent!
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the detailed explanations of why yoga works I've done yoga for years, but this is the first course or class that has really stressed the importance of breath-work, and then given very clear instructions on what to do. Also, the individual classes on slouching, being heart-healthy, etc. are relevant to today's world. If solutions to specific problems are what you are looking for, this is the class for you.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body is terrific! Heidi Sormaz is a terrific teacher and professor. Her easy manner and knowledge of yoga makes practicing yoga fun and interesting, which I never thought yoga could be. It is a great alternative for those of us who are tired of the thoughtless physical stress, of the endorphin driven gym environment and want to add a more thoughtful approach to maintaining a healthy body and mind.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST I have practiced Yoga for many years, and had many great teachers. I have learned several different forms of Yoga. This was great! She expanded my knowledge of these different forms. She had lots of good practices I can incorporate into my classes and pass the knowledge to them. I was impressed that, just like in real life, she even had a guest presenter. He really added to the course, too. One lesson had a real challenging routine to do. She made it look so easy!
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great for beginners I've tried videos on yoga before, but they never laid down the framework that this course contains. I like that the instructor doesn't assume I can contort myself into a pretzel.
Date published: 2018-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yoga The course is very easy to understand with excellent hands on exercises that demonstrate the benefits of yoga.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Introduction or Review I bought this with the idea I would get to it in a few months. Then I listened to the first lecture and skipping further into the course made me want to get going now. Not put it off for a few months but I wanted to get going now!
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great course I found this informative and useful. Heidi is excellent as an instructor. I do the breathing exercises in lecture 12 and power yoga in lecture 8 daily. This has allowed me to perfect my technique. I have recommended this to many of my friends, I would like to see a second course from Heidi that gives more yoga routines.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lectures and I found this series very informative. The exercises went beyond simple instruction, and I appreciated learning about the reasoning behind the moves. The instructor was great. She provided clear lectures and gentle encouragement to beginners like me. I look forward to replaying the series.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yoga I have not been able to access it your add stated i could view it on ipad iphone etc. oce puchased I found out I needed a computer to download. So i was unable to download. Total loss of money for me.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent overview Anyone interested in an explanation of the myriad forms of Yoga should take this course. The instructor, a PhD in Psychology, explains the terms and methods of Yoga without a reliance on Sanskrit terminology, something which can be a bit confusing. I appreciate the instructors skill in designing the course material and her involvement of others to present an overview of their Yoga methods.
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative introductory to yoga Needed to learn about yoga and the positions that can help my posture and back.
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Listened to 2 lectures & I really like it. Just what I was looking for. Guessing I'll give it 6 stars after I finish! Great instructor
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to follow and understand I've done Yoga previously but thought this would help me learn more about the practice. The lectures are informative and practice easy to follow.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK Knowledgeable teacher. While some of the ideas are well presented, the camera work and style of oration give the impression of a late night infomercial rather than a lecture.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY INFORMATIVE I BROUGHT THIS COURSE (YOGA FOR A HEALTHY MIND AND BODY).I BEEN TRYING YOGA OFF AND ON FOR TWENTY YEARS AND NEVER FULLY GOT INTO IT. THIS COURSE TAKES ME THROUGH EVERYTHING I NEED TO KNOW TO TO START MY LIFETIME JOURNEY INTO YOGA.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Introduction to Yoga I am normally a science and history buyer, so this is my first venture into a "Lifestyle" course (and I am a pure beginner in Yoga). With that said, I highly recommend this course for beginners like me. The instructor provides clear descriptions and demonstrations; and I especially appreciated her focus on proper breathing. I am very pleased with the course.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this course I'm retired from a job where I was on call 24/7 and I'm happy I now have a chance to do things like yoga and Tai Chi that I couldn't do before. I love this course, it's working perfectly for me. I'm doing it along with the Essential Tai Chi course, which I also really like. I'm a beginner in both disciplines so I really needed a course that would start with the basics and work from there, which both courses do. This course is really focused on breathing. I was a little surprised how much time was spent on breathing but it turns out to be a very positive thing and I'm glad so much attention is paid to it. I'm not in anything like the shape the teacher is but I find all the postures doable, sometimes a bit modified, and all of them a bit more work than I thought. The survey of styles is interesting- I had never heard of Yin Yoga before but it is really intriguing and very helpful. I can't really think of anything about this course that I don't like. I just hope they do more like it,in a slightly more advanced focus.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I'm now practicing yoga at home, having stopped going to classes at a local gym for the past six years. This course is excellent, and fills my needs completely. The instructor is poetry in motion!
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to follow and informative! ! I enjoyed that the instructor made it simple enough to use it in the office and before my violin practice. I can see the difference and I want to study it more.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have enjoyed the entire video. I bought this about a month ago and love the convenience of using it on my IPad in different areas.
Date published: 2017-10-04
  • y_2021, m_6, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_105
  • loc_en_CA, sid_9263, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 55.01ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Overview

Learn yoga from an expert instructor who teaches you the poses, the science behind them, and the amazing benefits of this ancient tradition.

About

Heidi Sormaz
Heidi Sormaz

Yoga can have a transformative effect on your body and mind, helping you move from disease to ease in the ways that you breathe, move, and think.

INSTITUTION

Certified Yoga Instructor

Dr. Heidi E. Sormaz is the founder, owner, and director of Fresh Yoga LLC in New Haven, Connecticut. She earned her M.S. and Ph.D. in Psychology from Yale University and was a postdoctoral fellow at Yale and the University of California, Berkeley. She taught psychology at Yale, San Francisco State University, and Albertus Magnus College. Dr. Sormaz obtained the highest teaching credentials from both Forrest Yoga and Yoga Alliance.

In her academic work, Dr. Sormaz is an expert on the influence of arousal and attention on performance, the effects of anxiety on thinking, stress management, and performance in pressure situations. Her publications include the book Performance under Pressure: Managing Stress in the Workplace, published by HRD Press, and the article "Meditation Can Reduce Habitual Responding," published in Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine. Dr. Sormaz was awarded the Flora Stone Mather Alumnae Award from Case Western Reserve University and the Wilhelm Wundt Award at the Northeast Ohio Undergraduate Psychology Research Conference.

In addition to teaching yoga in her own studio, she has presented workshops and teacher trainings at conferences and studios across the United States, including Kripalu and the Esalen Institute. Yoga Journal featured Dr. Sormaz on its list of "teachers who are shaping yoga's future" from across America.

By This Expert

Yoga for a Healthy Mind and Body

Trailer

Western Yoga

01: Western Yoga

Explore the roots of hatha yoga, the form of yoga widely practiced in the West. Focus on the three principles of hatha yoga-breath exercises, physical postures (called asanas), and meditation-which promote a healthy mind and body. Get started with some simple yoga exercises....

34 min
Yoga Begins with the Breath

02: Yoga Begins with the Breath

The tension we accumulate every day tightens the muscles in the upper body, making it hard to breathe. Practice a mini yoga class that highlights mindful breathing to relieve this stress. Then add three new asanas to your yoga routine: warrior 2, bound angle, and downward facing dog.

27 min
Yoga and Pain Relief

03: Yoga and Pain Relief

Consider some key tools used in yoga to address physical pain: attention to breath and sensation, release of chronic muscle contractions, and healthier movement patterns. Practice asanas for each of these pain reduction techniques-including a chest opener, yoga pushup, plank, and staff pose.

27 min
Yoga for a Healthy Heart

04: Yoga for a Healthy Heart

Yoga can lead to a healthier heart by providing a transition from a more sedentary lifestyle to a more active one. Trace the steps that will help you gradually build your yoga practice. Learn two new breathing exercises together with asanas that include warrior 1, knee-to-chest, and bridge.

29 min
Yoga and Addictive Behavior

05: Yoga and Addictive Behavior

Discover how yoga and attention to the body's sensations can aid in breaking the vicious cycle of addictive behaviors. Perform patterned breathing, side bends, cat/cow, downward dog, lunges, forward fold, and reclined twist. End with savasana, the traditional closing posture in a yoga practice.

34 min
Yoga for Depression and Anxiety

06: Yoga for Depression and Anxiety

Examine how mindful, moving yoga can help interrupt the physical and psychological habits that lead to depression. Focus on sun salutations, a series of movements and poses linked by one breath per move. Perform the classic sun salutation, and then Surya namaskar A and B.

29 min
Iyengar Yoga

07: Iyengar Yoga

In the first of five lectures on different styles of yoga, experience a beginner sequence of Iyengar yoga. Named for pioneer yoga teacher B. K. S. Iyengar, this practice makes extensive use of props. Practice nine essential asanas, with optional props such as a wall, chair, strap, and blocks....

31 min
Power Yoga

08: Power Yoga

Transition to a more aerobic form of yoga-power vinyasa-in which a sequence of poses is strung together at an energetic pace. This is the form of yoga taught in many health clubs and gyms. Try a challenging flow, modifying the poses where appropriate for your level of fitness.

29 min
Yin Yoga

09: Yin Yoga

Yin yoga is a complementary practice to a yang form, such as power yoga. The goal is very simple: Assume a shape with your body, relax with gravity, and rest in stillness. Unwind with yin poses that gently stretch your connective tissues, including tendons, ligaments, and fascia.

27 min
Anusara Yoga

10: Anusara Yoga

Explore the spiritual dimension of yoga through an Anusara practice, which combines the Iyengar system of alignment with elements of Hindu spirituality. After a Sanskrit invocation, follow a sequence of asanas that emphasizes awareness of energy flow and muscle action in your body.

32 min
Forrest Yoga

11: Forrest Yoga

Developed by American yoga teacher Ana Forrest, Forrest yoga is known for helping people deal with emotional issues, trauma, and addiction by creating a calm and untroubled internal state. Discover a new way of tuning into your feelings, using many techniques and postures you have already learned.

34 min
Everyday Yoga

12: Everyday Yoga

Draw on the poses and routines presented in the course to develop a personalized yoga routine that will work for you in the everyday realities of 21st-century life. Keep sight of three principles: Breathe deliberately, move in non-habitual ways, and pursue mindful awareness....

34 min